​Hospital Information System “BESTCare”

 

What the Ministry of National Guard - Health Affairs is witnessing in the era of the Custodian of the Two Holy Mosques, from the construction and development of medical cities and health centers Kingdom wide, imposed a long-term process that demanded commitment on the support services, particularly the health information systems, so much so to keep pace with this rapid development. There is no doubt that certain difficulties might rise when trying to replace an existing health information system with a modern one. A system that depends on an advanced software and diverse techniques to be applied in an organization the size of the Ministry of National Guards - Health Affairs, which could encounter administrative, manpower and technical challenges.

The Health Information System "BESTCare" project was implemented through several stages, beginning with an intensive search for a system that meets the requirements of Ministry of National Guards - Health Affairs, and at the same time, such system shall adhere to the requirements of international standards, In addition, the possibility of internalizing / localizing such system in order to bring out a copy that will meet the requirements of Saudi Arabia and serve the MENA region.

After an extensive research, a major international South Korean company was selected, in order to acquire and localize the hospital information system which will ultimately be in line with the local health needs through Saudi expertise, to start working on reaching a milestone in implementing health systems.

BESTCare aims to contain the patient's medical history through an electronic medical record that starts from birth, in addition to patient interactive self-services, which also provides a package of services after personal verification by either a fingerprint, smart card or the medical record number, to learn more about the appointments and the clinic location map.

What distinguishes BESTCare is its usability and functionality in covering all health centers requirements featuring a unified database, smart phones application, e-consent, in addition to improving communication between doctors and patients and providing educational tools for physicians, trainees and patients. Most importantly, BESTCare promotes “smart hospital” approach by electronically exchanging clinical documents, electronic services to support decision-makers of health-care providers towards patient-centered care.

Initially, BESTCare has successfully went live in the central region, Riyadh represented by King Abdullah Specialist Children's Hospital and King Abdulaziz Medical City early this year in January 2016, followed by the Go-Live in the western region in King Abdulaziz Medical City – Jeddah in May 2016. In August 2016, the BESTCare  Go-Live took place in Prince Mohammed Bin Abdul Aziz Hospital - Al Madinah Al Munawwarah . Moreover, before the official Go-Live in all regions,  Real Situation Simulation technique has been applied by the BESTCare team parallel to a support team and a call-center in order to provide technical support and follow-up of the system around the clock to all NGHA Health practitioners to avoid all obstacles and guide users in all facilities to improve the provided health services.

Last but not least, the BESTCare  Go-Live for the eastern region,  in both  King Abdulaziz Hospital - Al Ahsa and Imam Abdulrahman Al Faisal Hospital - Dammam went live in December 2016.

Last Modified

نظام المعلومات الصحية "بيست كير"

إإن ما تشهده الشؤون الصحية بوزارة الحرس الوطني في عهد خادم الحرمين الشريفين – يحفظه الله - من إنشاءات للمدن الطبية والمراكز الصحية بمختلف مناطق المملكة، فرض متطلبات جديدة على عاتق الخدمات المساندة وفي مقدمتها أنظمة المعلومات الصحية، وذلك لمواكبة هذا التطور المتسارع. ومما لا شك فيه صعوبة استبدال نظام صحي قائم بنظام صحي حديث، يعتمد على برمجيات وتقنيات مختلفة يطبق في منشأة بحجم الشؤون الصحية بوزارة الحرس الوطني، مما قد يواجه تحديات فنية وبشرية وإدارية.

لقد مر مشروع نظام المعلومات الصحية "بيست كير" بخارطة طريق تضمنت مراحل عديدة، وكان أولها البحث عن نظام يفي بمتطلبات الشؤون الصحية بوزارة الحرس الوطني، وفي الوقت ذاته، يجب أن يتميز هذا النظام بمتطلبات المعايير والجودة العالمية، بالإضافة إلى إمكانية توطين هذا النظام من اجل اخراج نسخة تفي بمتطلبات المنطقة في المملكة العربية السعودية وبشكل اقليمي يخدم منطقة الدول العربية.

انطلقت الخطوات الأولى بالبحث عن نظام صحي بمواصفات ومعايير عالمية، ليقع الاختيار على كبرى الشركات العالمية في كوريا الجنوبية، ليتم امتلاك النظام وتوطينه بما يتلاءم مع الاحتياجات الصحية المحلية من خلال خبرات سعودية وكفاءات وطنية، عملت على صنع علامة فارقة في مستوى النظم الصحية.

ويهدف النظام الصحي إلى أن يكوّن سجلا طبيا تاريخيا للمريض يبدأ معه منذ ولادته، ومن أهداف النظام أيضا توفير سبل الراحة للمريض ومنها ما تقدمه أجهزة الخدمة الذاتية التفاعلية التي توفر كذلك حزمة من الخدمات بعد عملية التحقق الشخصي من خلال قراءة البصمة أو البطاقة الذكية أو الرقم الطبي لمعرفة المزيد عن المواعيد وخارطة موقع العيادة.

يتميز النظام المعلوماتي الصحي الجديد "بيست كير" بشموليته وتغطيته لمتطلبات المراكز الصحية وأيضا ترابط المعلومات إذ يضم قاعدة بيانات موحدة، وإمكانية تحميله على أجهزة الهواتف الذكية، ونماذج الموافقة الإلكترونية بالإضافة إلى تحسين التواصل بين الأطباء والمرضى وتوفير أدوات التعليم والتثقيف للأطباء المتدربين والمرضى على حد سواء، بالإضافة إلى وتوفر العديد من باقات الخدمات الإلكترونية لدعم مبدأ المستشفى الذكي ودعم صاحب القرار من مقدمي الرعاية الصحية بمؤشرات القياس والتقارير الإحصائية.

أولا، اطلق نظام المعلومات الصحية "بيست كير" بنجاح في المنطقة الوسطى، الرياض ممثلا بمستشفى الملك عبد الله التخصصي للأطفال ومدينة الملك عبد العزيز الطبية في شهر يناير من هذا العام 2016 م، وفي شهر مايو، تم اطلاق النظام في المنطقة الغربية في مدينة الملك عبدالعزيز الطبية - بجدة . أما في مستشفى الأمير محمد بن عبد العزيز - المدينة المنورة، اطلق النظام في شهر أغسطس. وعلاوة على ذلك، وقبل اطلاق النظام الجديد في جميع المناطق التابعة للشؤون الصحية بوزارة الحرس الوطني، تم تطبيق نماذج المحاكاة للتدريب على خطوات التشغيل، بالإضافة إلى تواجد فريق دعم فني متكامل ومركز اتصال من أجل متابعة النظام على مدار الساعة لجميع الممارسين الصحيين، وتفاد العقبات وإرشاد المستخدمين في جميع المرافق لتحسين الخدمات الصحية المقدمة.

وأخيرا وليس آخرا، فقد تم اطلاق النظام في المنطقة الشرقية في كل من مستشفى الملك عبد العزيز - الأحساء ومستشفى الإمام عبد الرحمن آل فيصل - الدمام  بنهاية عام 2016 م.

Last Modified 1/25/2017 12:36 PM