PGME History – KAMC, Riyadh

Residency training programs in our institution were established in 1986, with approved programs in Medicine, Surgery, Pediatrics, and Obstetrics and Gynecology – all accredited by the Arab board for Medical Specialization.

In March 1998, the concept of Sub-Specialty Fellowship Programs was initiated. These programs significantly contribute to the advancement of postgraduate medical education in the Kingdom while greatly enhancing the reputation of the King Fahad National Guard Hospital as a premier teaching facility. 

By the year 2001, the Saudi Commission for Health Specialties recognized our residency training programs in fifteen specialties.  Recognized experts in these specialties and subspecialties carefully developed comprehensive residency programs teaching the fundamental principles of sciences, and incorporating  intensive clinical and technical experiences of immediate relevance to medical practitioners. Each residency program  is structured in accordance with the standards and guidelines imposed by the Saudi Commission for Health Specialties and the Arab Board for Medical Specialization.

As of June 1st, 2016, we have thirty one (31) approved residency programs and forty (40) Fellowship training Programs approved by the Saudi Commission for Health Specialties at our training center in Riyadh. 

Last Modified

19-Dec-2016 02:59 PM

​نبذة تاريخية عن إدارة التعليم الطبي العالي  -مدينة الملك عبدالعزيز الطبية بالرياض

في عام 1986م بدأت برامج الاختصاص بمدينة الملك عبدالعزيز الطبية بالرياض، وكانت البداية الأولى مع عدة برامج وهي طب الباطنة، والجراحة العامة، والأطفال، وبرنامج طب النساء والتوليد. وكانت جميع هذه البرامج معترف بها من قبل المجلس العربي للاختصاصات الصحية، وازدادت بعد ذلك عدد برامج الاختصاص بالمدينة الطبية.

وفي عام 1998م بدأت برامج الزمالة (التخصص الدقيق) بالمدنية الطبية، وكانت جزء مما أسهم في تطور التعليم الطبي العالي بالمملكة وذلك من خلال شهرة ومكانة مستشفى الملك فهد بالحرس الوطني كمنشأة تعليمية طبية.

وفي العام 2001م، قامت الهيئة السعودية للتخصصات الصحية باعتماد خمسة عشر (15) برنامجا في شهادة الاختصاص من البرامج المقامة في المدينة الطبية. وقد قام مختصون من التخصصات الطبية العامة والتخصصات الدقيقة بتطوير مبادئ التعليم الأساسية لبرامج الاختصاص ودمج الخبرات السريرية والفنية المكثفة ذات الصلة للممارسين الطبيين. وقد تم تأسيس كل برنامج اختصاص بناء على المعايير والمبادئ التي رسمتها الهيئة السعودية للتخصصات الصحية والمجلس العربي للاختصاصات الصحية.

وتقام حاليا في مدينة الملك عبدالعزيز الطبية بالرياض ما يقارب 31 برنامجا تدريبيا تابعا لشهادة الاختصاص السعودية، وما يقارب 40 برنامج زمالة (تخصص دقيق)، وجميعها معتمدة لدى الهيئة السعودية للتخصصات الصحية.

Last Modified

14-Nov-2016 04:37 PM